Gallery – Fukuoka, Japan

Seollal, or Lunar New Year (sometimes referred to incorrectly as “Chinese New Year”) is one of the bigger holidays in Korea and we got a four day weekend.  Seeing as this was my last chance, I decided to hop on an overnight ferry from Busan to Fukuoka and spend a day in Japan.  I returned on Sunday on the much faster, but more expensive Hydrofoil ferry which took only three hours.

I spent my day wandering around eating at three different vegan restaurants, a couple cafes, and just seeing the main neighborhoods, temples and stations.  The city has a big feel to it as the buildings and infrastructure are all really big and modern, but there didn’t really seem to be a lot of people.  Overall, it was pretty easy to navigate with the only exception being the journey back to the ferry terminal.  Luckily I gave myself plenty of time and it wasn’t a problem.

Some of the highlights were the ACROS building, which is covered in trees with a stairway going to the roof for an overview of the city.  Also the pedestrian markets near Tenjin and the canal, Hakata Station and Ohori Park.  It was worth the weekend trip, but if I could spend more time in the area I would definitely want to venture out and see more of Kyushu.  Overall, I am glad I made the trip and if you have extra time in Busan I’d say it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

